Chocolate Cointreau cupcakes

Here, as promised, are my chocolate Cointreau cupcakes 🙂  I’ve been having baking withdrawal, having last baked something on Sunday(!), so despite the lack of natural light available for photographing my baking efforts, I decided to make these cupcakes this evening.  I stopped off at the supermarket to gather supplies and was very excited by what I found in the baking aisle…

Image

Orange flavoured buttons, pink cupcake cases and pink sparkles = a happy Joy 🙂  The cupcakes are (were) very yummy and were barely iced before Mr Baking-Joy had eaten two!  The recipe uses a chocolate ganache to ice the cakes and the cook’s perk is obviously to eat any left overs (make extra is my advice :-))

Image

Image

Ingredients:

For the cakes (makes around 12):

  • 6oz margarine (I use Stork)
  • 6oz caster sugar
  • 5oz self-raising flour, sifted
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 1oz cocoa powder (I use Green & Black’s), sifted
  • grated rind of 1 orange
  • 50g dark chocolate chips

For the ganache:

  • 100ml double cream
  • 75g orange chocolate
  • 25g dark chocolate
  • Half a capful of Cointreau

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to Gas6/220C.  Line a cupcake tin with paper cases.
  2. Place all cake ingredients (apart from chocolate chips) in a large bowl and mix together until just combined, using an electric mixer or a wooden spoon.
  3. Fold in chocolate chips.  Fill paper cases about halfway with mixture.  Place in the preheated oven for 15-18 minutes, until cakes are risen and spring back when pressed lightly.
  4. Let cakes cool on a wire rack, whilst you make the ganache.  To make the ganache…put double cream, Cointreau and chocolate into a saucepan and heat gently (don’t boil).  The chocolate will melt in the cream and look grainy.  Don’t panic!  Keep stirring and you will end up with a smooth chocolate sauce.  Let the ganache cool for a few minutes.
  5. Spread ganache over cakes and leave for a while to set (if you can!).  Eat remaining ganache 🙂  The ganache will remain quite soft.  Decorate cake with chocolate buttons if you like.  I found these orange flavoured ones 🙂

I’ve noticed that I’ve been writing my sponge based recipes in ounces.  I think this is habit and also from using my mum’s classic scales when I was younger 🙂  I will make this recipe again at some point soon, in order to use natural light and I’ve also had the thought of using a Cointreau/orange juice sugar syrup to soak the cakes in whilst they’re cooling…

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Cointreau cupcakes

  1. Oohhh more baking with alcohol recipes please! Cointreau with old fashioned still lemonade and lots of ice was my drink of this summer… cointreau cupcakes sounds like a winner for this winter 🙂

  2. I made a trip to the baking aisle as well the other day and also got very excited about the pink buttons (haven’t even seen the orange ones!) and all the different pearls you can now get – I even bought the same cases! These sound delicious.

  3. 🙂 all I’m waiting for now is Tescos to start doing butterscotch baking chips…although rumour has it we have an american sweet shop opening near us soon, so I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

