Cinnamon butter apple cake

I’m taking a break from the holy grail that is peanut butter + chocolate to bake with the other holy grail (yes there are two :-)) that is cinnamon.  I’ve been having major cinnamon cravings recently, which I think is the winter weather setting in.  I love the stuff.  Cinnamon on porridge, cinnamon toast (the subject of my breakfast this morning!) and most of all, cinnamon in baking.  It makes the whole house smell amazing and I’m going to try and get it into as many recipes as possible over the coming weeks 🙂

Image

Image

Today’s recipe is a fairly simple apple loaf cake, with the addition of a cinnamon butter topping.  Yuuuum.  I’m writing this blog post in advance to be published later, just to get my mind off the cake that is sitting cooling in the tin.  If I wasn’t typing, I’d be eating the cake.  In fact, I may have to go and defend said cake from Mr Baking-Joy, who has just wandered into the kitchen shouting ‘cake!  cake!’  in a manner much like the Cookie Monster  🙂  Cinnamon loves apples (and butter and sugar for that matter), so it made perfect sense to me combining them like this.  Enjoy 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 175g soft, unsalted butter
  • 175g golden caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 eating apples, grated
  • 4 rounded tablespoons natural yoghurt
  • 60g sultanas
  • 20g butter (topping)
  • 1 tbsp caster sugar (topping)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (topping)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to Gas 3/160C.  Grease and line a 2lb loaf tin with baking paper (or use a loaf tin liner)
  2. Beat together the butter, sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy.  Beat in the eggs, one at a time, adding a spoonful of the flour to stop the mixture from curdling.
  3. Sift in the flour and cinnamon and add the yoghurt.  Tip in the grated apple and sultanas and fold everything together until all the ingredients are incorporated.
  4. Put mixture into the loaf tin and bake for around 1hr 30 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  5. Make the topping by melting the butter gently and stirring in the cinnamon and sugar.  Spoon over the cooling cake and leave to completely cool in the tin.

Patience, Joy, patience 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon butter apple cake

    • Thank you 🙂 I wanted any excuse to use cinnamon and the cinnamon butter topping worked really well. Husband didn’t allow me to share that cake at work! I can’t wait to try baking your nutella cinnamon sugar muffins – yuuum!

Leave a Reply

