Chocolate peanut butter banana muffins

I went to the dentist yesterday.  So naturally to cheer myself up, I decided to bake something 🙂  I’d been hoarding bananas in a brown paper bag impatiently for a week, waiting for them to become squishy (squishy.  That’s a great word.  It reminds me of Dory from ‘Finding Nemo’.  By the way baking fans, I am a massive Disney freak :-))

Image

This recipe occurred to me the other day when I had my spoon in the peanut butter jar.  I love peanut butter frosting (it’s about the only type of frosting I do like to be honest :-)), but sometimes I just want proper peanut butter.  No extras, just yumminess.  Therefore I thought it may be a good idea to put a spoonful of peanut butter in the middle of my banana muffin recipe.  Yum.

Image

The muffins turned out really well 🙂  I was slightly apprehensive about putting the peanut butter in the middle with the muffin batter uncooked, but I needn’t have worried.  Mr Baking-Joy was very approving of this recipe.  In fact, I barely got to taste test them for you 🙂

Image

Image

Image

Image

Ingredients (makes 9 muffins):

  • 125ml vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 250g plain flour
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 100g dark chocolate chips
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 30g crunchy peanut butter

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to Gas 6/200C.  Line a muffin tin with muffin cases.
  2. Pour the oil into a jug and beat in the eggs.
  3. Put the flour, sugar, bicarbonate of soda & baking powder into a bowl and mix in the beaten egg and oil mixture.  Mix in the mashed banana.
  4. Fold in the chocolate chips.  Half fill the muffin case with batter.  Place a teaspoon of peanut butter in the middle of the mixture and then completely fill the muffin case with batter.
  5. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes and cool on a wire rack.
3 thoughts on “Chocolate peanut butter banana muffins

  1. Pingback: Banana peanut butter chip muffins | Baking Joy

Leave a Reply

