Gingerbread bundt cake

I went to Lakeland the other day.  For my non-UK friends, this is a shop that spells danger around every corner.  It is a shop where I may pop in ‘just for a look’ and end up spending far too much money 🙂  Whilst visiting the shop over the weekend, I happily told Mr Baking-Joy that I’d be at the back, looking at the baking stuff.  He then asked me if I’d be ok, or would I need supervision 🙂  The truth is, I do need supervision in that shop, otherwise I dance around shouting ‘ooo pretty’ and putting many items in my basket!  However, on that day I tried to restrain myself and bought a square cake tin (for brownies and bars) and a bundt tin.  I been using the word ‘bundt’ in many conversations over the last few days.  In fact, I think I confused someone at work who thought I was using rude language 🙂

Anyway…on the Christmas/cinnamon road I’ve been travelling down recently, I wanted to add a gingerbread bundt cake to my travels.  The lemon icing is on a similar theme to my gingerbread cupcakes I blogged about recently.  Gingerbread + lemon = yum.

Image

Image

Ingredients:

  • 300g unsalted butter
  • 120ml treacle
  • 250g light brown sugar
  • 300ml milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 450g plain flour
  • 3 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground clove
  • 200g dried prunes, chopped
  • Icing sugar
  • Juice of 1 lemon

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C/Gas 4.  Spray bundt tin with cooking oil spray or grease with butter.
  2. Put butter, sugar and treacle into a saucepan and heat gently to melt
  3. Remove saucepan from heat, add the milk and stir.  Leave to cool before beating in the eggs
  4. Sift the flour and bicarb into a bowl and mix in the spices.  Pour in the saucepan mixture and mix together until you have a batter (I would use an electric mixer here, the mixture can go lumpy when you add the wet ingredients to the dry)
  5. Fold in the chopped prunes.  Pour the batter into the bundt tin and bake for around 1 hour
  6. Let the cake cool for 20-30 minutes in the tin, before turning the cake out.  Leave the cake to cool completely before drizzling over icing
  7. To make the icing…sift some icing sugar into a bowl and beat in the juice of a lemon.  Add more icing sugar until a thickish icing is made.

Recipe adapted from http://www.lakeland.co.uk/

12 thoughts on “Gingerbread bundt cake

  1. I was just thinking about making a gingerbread loaf with lemon glaze this weekend!!! And now, I have got to make it!! This cake looks incredible. I simply ADORE lemon and gingerbread together. A match made in heaven. I want a huge poece of this right now for dessert! But I’ll settle with a boring yogurt instead. I have to bake something tomorrow. 🙂

    • Thank you Sally! I very much enjoyed using my new tin 🙂 The prunes in the cake sound a bit strange, but they add to the general stickiness – yum!

  2. Lakeland. You’ve said the L word! You shouldn’t have. Now I have the urge to someone accidentally wondering into my local store and come out completely broke and have no money for Christmas. Must.Not.Do.That!

    And yes, I call them bundt cakes too. In fact, I’ve completely forgotten what the actual UK term for one of those cake tins is. And there’s no better way than christening your new bundt tin than with festive gingerbread. Look delicious, Joy. I love the addition of them lemon again too. Such a nice combo.

    • Thank you 🙂 The prunes are great in it too. The shop that must not be named is very dangerous. In fact, I may be paying another visit to it tomorrow. Oh dear.

  3. Pingback: Gingerbread Wreath Cake – perfect for Christmas coffee mornings « lovinghomemade

Leave a Reply

