Homemade raspberry jam

I’m almost embarrassed to call this a recipe today.  It’s that easy.  In fact, please don’t tell anyone how easy this is.  I may be outed as a fraud 🙂  One of my hopes for Baking-Joy was that it would encourage me to try things that I’d never made before.  I’ve got several recipes coming up that call for raspberry jam, and rather than buying it as I normally do, I decided to (slightly apprehensively) have a go at making it.  I needn’t have worried 🙂

Image

After a bit of research, I discovered that raspberries are very naturally high in pectin (the setting agent for jam).  This means that there was no need for jam sugar.  There’s also no need for a sugar thermometer or even to use fresh fruit.  I can safely say that the 2 pots of jam I made were far cheaper than if I had gone to the shop and bought the decent brand I normally do.  The whole recipe is done and dusted in under 20 minutes.  Can you tell I’m impressed? 😀

Image

The only slight issue I had with this recipe, is attempting not to burn myself on hot sugar whilst stirring the mixture (it tends to spit!) 🙂  Whilst the jam is cooking, you must sterilise the jars you plan to use.  The easiest method is to wash the jars with hot soapy water (or in the dishwasher), rinse and lay them in the oven at Gas 3/160C for 10 minutes.  After 10 minutes turn the oven off and leave the jars in there until you are ready to pot the jam.  Pot the jam straightaway when it’s at setting point and leave to cool completely in the jar.

Look out for this jam in several recipes over the coming weeks 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 350g fresh or frozen raspberries (I used frozen)
  • 350g granulated sugar

Method (makes around 400ml):

  1. Put 2 clean 200ml jars in the oven at Gas 3/160C.  After 10 minutes turn the oven off and leave the jars until you are ready to pot the jam. Place 2 saucers into the freezer to chill.
  2. Place all the frozen fruit into a saucepan and cook over a gentle heat for 2 minutes until some of the juice from the raspberries is released.
  3. Add all the sugar to the fruit and stir for around 2 minutes until the sugar is dissolved.  Crank the heat up high so the jam comes to the boil.
  4. Boil the jam for 5-10 minutes (be careful of spitting).  After around 5 minutes of boiling, try the ‘wrinkle test’.  Put a blob of jam on one of the chilled saucers.  Leave for a moment and then push with your finger.  If the jam wrinkles, it’s ready (‘setting point’).  If it’s not at the setting point, continue boiling for another 2 minutes and test again.
  5. When the jam is ready, use a jam funnel to pour the jam into the hot jars (carefully!)  Put the lids on and leave to cool completely in the jars.
6 thoughts on “Homemade raspberry jam

  1. raspberry is my favorite flavor of jam. I’ve never made it myself before. and you know what? never really realized how easy it is to make at home. I would slather this on a piece of toast or english muffin. Or on a peanut butter sandwich. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Peanut butter raspberry cake bars | Baking Joy

  3. Pingback: Blueberry jam | Baking Joy

Leave a Reply

