Chocolate chunk peanut cookies

I have yet another cookie recipe for you…sorry? 🙂

Image

Today’s offering is based on what has become my favourite cookie dough, which means I can now happily experiment with all the delicious add-ins!  I’m sure I will experiment further to perfect this cookie dough, however I’ve been so pleased with how chewy, yet crisp these cookies are and how they puff up when they bake 🙂

As I’ve mentioned before (with all the cookie science I’ve been learning over the past few months) it is so important to 1. Chill the dough (ideally overnight).  This means the cookies don’t spread much during baking, keeping them puffy and 2. use more brown sugar than white.  I use a combination of 3 sugars in this recipe, which seems to work great, particularly the treacly dark brown sugar with the cocoa powder.

Image

Image

I recently found in my cupboard 3 full packets of salted peanuts.  Oops.  I had (still have) the intention of making homemade peanut butter, however at the moment the peanuts are just hanging around.  Staring at me.  I could easily eat those 3 bags on their own.  But then I’d have to do Pilates non-stop for about a week to make up that 10 minutes 🙂

I love the sweet/salt combination (remember the salted popcorn/chocolate button confession?) so I thought it would be perfect to add some salted peanuts into the dough, as well as white chocolate chunks (which go amazingly gooey) and milk chocolate chips.  These cookies stay soft for a good few days after baking due to the high proportion of brown sugar, but they probably won’t be around for long! 🙂

Image

Image

Ingredients (makes around 18 cookies):

  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 100g dark brown sugar
  • 75g light brown sugar
  • 50g caster sugar (superfine)
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 195g plain flour
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 50g salted peanuts
  • 50g white chocolate chunks
  • 100g milk chocolate chips

Method:

  1.  Line 2 baking trays with baking paper or liner.
  2. Cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy.  Beat in the egg.  Mix in the flour, cocoa, bicarb and baking powder.  Fold in the chocolate chips, peanuts and chocolate chunks.  Chill the dough at this stage for at least 2 hours (I chill mine overnight)
  3. Preheat oven to Gas 4/180C.  Roll dough into golfball sized balls and place on the baking tray (leaving some space inbetween), Bake for 8-9 minutes (no longer).
  4. Leave to firm up on the baking tray for at least 5 minutes and then cool on a rack.

What are your favourite cookie dough add ins?

4 thoughts on “Chocolate chunk peanut cookies

  1. don’t EVER be sorry for sharing more cookie recipes. Especially if they involve chocolate 😉 Loving these Joy! I love salty/sweet everything! My favorite cookie dough add-ins are peanuts, peanut butter chips, chocolate chips, and chopped snickers bars. 🙂 Oh and raisins too! Not all together though!

  2. Pingback: Lemon white chocolate cookies | Baking Joy

  3. Pingback: Tri-chocolate chip cookies | Baking Joy

Leave a Reply

