Victoria Sponge

I have an English classic for you today…Victoria sponge cake 🙂

Image

 

Image

 

Along with vanilla fairy cakes, this is one of the first recipes I ever made.  I have my Granny, Mum and Mary Berry to thank for teaching me!  This recipe is quite straightforward, however they are many ‘discussions’ as to the best way of making it!  Today, I’m going to give you the recipe that I use, but also talk you through some of the tweaks you can make for your own recipe. 

Image

 

Image

 

Traditionally, Victoria Sponge is made with raspberry jam, no buttercream and caster sugar sprinkled on top.  However this cake is equally delicious with strawberry jam and buttercream filling.  It’s also beautiful as a summer dessert with fresh strawberries. raspberries and lightly whipped cream in the middle.  Take your pick! 🙂

My personal preference is for strawberry jam and caster sugar as the topping (I know, I know.  I used icing sugar for my photos.  It looks prettier :-))  A bit of a controversy with this cake is whether you use butter or margarine in the cake batter.  I personally use margarine.  Butter provides excellent flavour in certain recipes and for most baking I will use butter, however using margarine in this case means the ‘all-in-one’ method can be used.  As margarine will not cause the eggs to curdle, all the ingredients can be quickly beaten together in one bowl.  As soon as they are combined, stop mixing, as overworking the flour can cause a heavy cake.  I’ve tasted the Victoria sponge using butter and then margarine and it really doesn’t affect the flavour.  Try it and see!

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Ensure that you bake both halves of the cake on the same oven shelf, as this should mean that they rise evenly.  Don’t worry if one looks more perfect than the other, just pick this one to be the top 🙂

My recipe makes one 7 inch cake (2 layers), if you’s like an 8 inch cake, simply increase the 4 main ingredients to 225g and the baking powder to 2 teaspoons.

Image

 

Image

 

Ingredients (makes one 7 inch cake):

  • 175g soft margarine (or butter)
  • 175g self-raising flour (or all-purpose)
  • 175g caster sugar (superfine sugar)
  • 3 eggs (about 175g)
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder (if using all-purpose flour, increase the baking powder to 2 teaspoons)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to Gas 4/180C.  Baseline and grease two 7 inch sandwich tins.
  2. If using butter: Cream the butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy (about 3 minutes with a handmixer).  Mix in the eggs one at a time, with a small amount of the flour (to prevent curdling).  Fold in the flour and baking powder.
  3. If using margarine: Put all the ingredients into a bowl and mix together (with a handmixer) until just combined.
  4. Divide the cake mix evenly between the two tins, smooth the top and bake for 20 minutes until well risen and golden.  Do not be tempted to open the oven door whilst the cake is baking, as this could cause it to sink in the middle.
  5. Leave the cakes in the tin for 5 minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool.
  6. When cool, sandwich together with plenty of jam (strawberry in this case) and sprinkle the top with icing sugar or caster sugar.

Do you ever use margarine rather than butter in baking?

10 thoughts on “Victoria Sponge

  1. One of my all time favourite cakes and yours looks absolutely delicious! I often use margarine instead of butter in cakes, tend to use butter in things like biscuits where you can taste the difference.

    • Thank you 🙂 I couldn’t quite believe that I’ve had the blog for a few months and not posted about this cake until today! Totally agree about the biscuit vs cake with the butter, it seems to be more essential for that richer taste that biscuits and cookies need.

  2. Boy I’m hungry now!

    I’ve never made a Victoria Sponge with margarine before. I’ve had lots of different kinds of success with other cakes messing around with which butter brand you use and the softness really makes a huge difference. I love President butter but it doesn’t blend well in cakes so it’s best left for buttercream. I find Tesco’s own brand butter (not the really cheap one, the one up) is best for cakes – and I’ve tested a LOT! And I always use Flora for marg as it has the best taste. Which brands do you use?

    • I have to admit, I tend to use the cheapest Tesco butter for baking (just as I get through so much of it!) I always without fail use Stork as baking margarine, which is more out of habit really! It works very well though 🙂 I love President butter for eating!

Leave a Reply

