Lemon white chocolate cookies

I love lemon and white chocolate.  When I used to work for a recruitment agency, I would pootle down to a certain UK shop that’s known for its expensive food (any guesses?!) and buy a lemon and white chocolate muffin to go with my lunch (sometimes it was my lunch!)  I have plans to recreate those muffins very soon, but in the meantime I wanted to put the flavours into cookie form 🙂

Image

Image

I wanted these cookies to be packed with lemon flavour, so I used both lemon zest and lemon extract.  All the natural, fragrant lemon flavour is contained within the oils in the zest and the lemon extract just ramps it up even more!  You need the extra sharp lemon flavour in these cookies, as they are so packed full of white chocolate, which provides the sweetness.  Sweet vs. sharp.  Awesome 🙂

Image

Image

Image

In some of my previous cookie recipes (such as my chocolate chunk peanut cookies) I used a high proportion of light brown and dark brown sugar compared to white.  As I wanted today’s cookies to be quite light, I adjusted the amount of dark brown sugar accordingly.  You’ll notice that the majority of the sugar in the recipe is still light brown, as that means the cookies will stay wonderfully soft and chewy for a few days after baking.  Soft and chewy is good in my cookie book! (I wish I had a cookie book)

Image

Image

Image

Like most cookie doughs, make sure to chill this for at least 2 hours (although I chill mine overnight now out of habit!).  This chilling means the cookies won’t spread so much whilst baking , staying soft and puffy.

Image

Image

I’ve just thought of a way to make the extra cookie dough in the fridge even better…lemon curd 🙂

Ingredients (makes around 18 cookies):

  • 125g soft butter
  • 125g light brown sugar
  • 50g dark brown sugar
  • 50g caster sugar (superfine)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp lemon extract
  • 225g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 150g white chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Cream the butter and sugars together until soft and fluffy (around 3 minutes with an electric hand mixer)
  2. Beat in the egg, followed by the lemon zest and extract.
  3. Fold in the flour, baking powder, bicarb and salt, followed by the chocolate chips.  Chill the dough for at least 2 hours.
  4. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to Gas 4/180C and line baking trays.  Bake cookies for exactly 8 minutes (no longer).  They will appear underdone, but will firm up as they cool.  Leave on the baking sheet for 10 minutes and move to a wire rack to finish cooling.
15 thoughts on “Lemon white chocolate cookies

  1. I love lemon and white chocolate together! Joy, these cookies are just beautiful! The dough chilling – that is always important for my cookie doughs as well. So glad you chilled it!

    • Thank you Sally! It’s one of my favourite combinations, am planning to make some lemon curd poppyseed muffins soon with white chocolate 🙂 The chilling has made a massive difference and I still have some dough waiting to be made in my fridge 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tri-chocolate chip cookies | Baking Joy

Leave a Reply

