Soft baked peanut butter chocolate cookies

It’s National Peanut Butter Lovers Day on March 1st and even though we don’t celebrate it in the UK, I’m flying the UK flag for peanut butter lovers!  I can’t quite describe how much I love the stuff, especially as I used to hate it as a child.  Seriously.  I know it’s hard to believe, but I have a particularly traumatic memory of visiting a friend’s house after school and being fed a peanut butter sandwich for tea.  I’m pretty glad my tastebuds have changed 🙂

Image

 

Image

 

Welcome to PBLA (Peanut Butter Lovers Anonymous) 🙂

Image

 

I’ve made peanut butter cookies with oatbran before (peanut butter raisin cookies) which were great, but I wanted something with pure peanut butter flavour here.  They feel ‘heavy’ when you pick them up, almost like they will be dry to eat, but do not fear.  They may not be the best looking cookies in the world, but in terms of taste, they beat everything else I’ve baked.  Hands down.

The addition of chocolate and peanut butter chips (what else?!) only adds to the whole flavour.  There is no better combination in the world than peanut butter and chocolate.  Who’s with me? 🙂

The dough for these cookies doesn’t need chilling for long (bonus if you’re impatient like me!)  It is important not to overbake these little lovelies as I believe they could become dry if left in the oven too long.  Stick with 7-8 minutes and they’ll be perfect.  Make sure you leave them to cool on the tray for around 10 minutes, as they need some time to firm up before they are moved.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Ingredients:

  • 115g soft butter
  • 100g crunchy peanut butter
  • 155g smooth peanut butter
  • 55g caster sugar
  • 150g light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 185g plain flour
  • 80g peanut butter chips
  • 80g milk chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy (I use an electric handmixer).  Beat in both lots of peanut butter.
  2. Beat in the egg, followed by the vanilla.  Fold in the flour, baking powder and bicarb, followed by the peanut butter and chocolate chips.
  3. Chill dough for 30 minutes.  In the meantime, preheat the oven to Gas 4/180C and line 2 baking trays.
  4. Roll the dough into golfball size balls and place on the baking tray, flattening slightly with the palm of your hand.  Bake for 7-8 minutes and leave to cool on the baking tray for 10 minutes, before removing to a wire rack.

Happy Peanut Butter Lover’s Day!

8 thoughts on “Soft baked peanut butter chocolate cookies

  1. I OBVIOUSLY love these Joy!!!! peanut butter chips, chocolate chips, soft-baked, love it all! Happy PB Lover’s Day indeed. I’m glad I found a fellow pb lover like you!!

  2. Flying the flag for other UK peanut butter fans too, Joy! 🙂 I’ve hated peanut butter all my life until approx. 1 year into baking/blogging when I thought I’d give it another shot. Now I L.O.V.E. it. Granted that I don’t like it straight from the jar still, but in another else (and especially covered in chocolate, I’m in love).

    Your peanut butter cookies sound and look divine. They don’t look dry to me, they look moist and the type of cookie where you sit there breaking it apart with your fingers and ramming into your mouth, or is that just moi?

    • It is definitely not just you Lisa! I’d shovelled 3 of these into my mouth before they were cool & would have eaten them all if I hadn’t delivered them to my workmates! 🙂

Leave a Reply

